A Few Nice Surprises

IMG_0103-pola

Lately my life has been filled with little bits of wonder that have been keeping me in top sprirts. I surprised my family with vegan pumpkin pie muffins and ‘pumpkin’ brownies (which tasted just like normal brownies and came out WAY fudgier than the photo) and they were not disappointed. ;) And I may or may not have eaten three last night as a bedtime ‘snack’.

IMG_0099-pola

 

 

 

I’ve also been experimenting with other foods (especially sriracha hot sauce, which I’ve put on everything in the past week) to try to keep surprising myself. I finally prepared the black pasta that I bought when I was in Bologna and turned it into a cheater’s asian dish, with garlic, soy sauce, and sriracha. The falafel on the side was just to help my famished tummy after going to the gym.

IMG_0102-pola

 

The other goop that you see is a hispanic-inspired white bean and bell pepper puree. I threw in yummy spices like cumin, paprika and lime juice (but NO cilantro, NEVER cilantro). I added in some nutritional yeast for a boost of flavour, which in turn downed the spicyness of the whole dish. :( Next time I’ll have to take note and just add the tahini that I was going to add in the first place! On top I crushed some flax crackers just for some fun texture and a big more heavyness. It was a great use of leftovers!

 

As for your pasta al forno, I believe you did a WONDERFUL job. Food is to be considered a success if it tastes good, not if you did the recipe “correctly”. That’s why I’m not going to consider myself a ‘vegan’ in this time, and I will stop considering myself a ‘vegetarian’, because I don’t deserve the strict title. I enjoy the food that I make, which is without meat. If you enjoy the food that you made, then it shouldn’t matter what you call it.

Ti amo tantissimo,

Bambi <3

P.S. Grazie mille per aver preso la maglione!! E’ molto, molto carina!

Leave a Reply

